News from Composite & Electrical

Over the recent decades the produced amount of fiber reinforced plastics has grown dramatically, leading to unsolved questions concerning the disposal of these materials after their end of life cycle. The thermal disposal in incineration plants or in the cement industry is for sure not a sustainable solution of this problem. Not to mention the special problems caused by incompletely combusted carbon fibers, leading to troubles and short circuits in filter devices.

Aditya Birla has developed a new class of amines, enabling the chemical cleavage of epoxy resins by means of cheap solvents based on renewable raw materials. By separating the duroplastic matrix from the reinforcing fibers the recovery of both materials becomes possible and the recycling is significantly eased.

The newly developed resin system YDL 5557 / THR 9357 can be used for the vacuum infusion process and distinguishes itself by a very long pot life and a low viscosity. Composite parts made thereof show mechanical and thermal properties being absolutely comparable with conventional epoxy resins and can for instance be used for production of sporting goods, boats or rotor blades of wind turbines.

 

TDS Epotec YDL 5557 – THR 9357

Current SMC parts suffer from a bad image with regard to styrene emissions as well as limited mechanical properties in relation to their weight. For these reasons, in the recent years there was a growing interest in SMC applications based on epoxy resins.

CeTePox® AM 3802 is a newly developed product, offering a thermal stability up to 150 °C and can be processed in a cycle time below 10 minutes. Parts made thereof have a shiny surface and provide a high degree of mechanical strength.

Using optimum process conditions, an upper fiber volume content of 55 – 60 % can be achieved.

You are looking for a product to fix large-area textiles without additional equipment?

FabFix™ Blue and FabFix™ Clear combine easy handling with strong adhesion! Our FabFix™ Spray adhesives are packed in handy spray cans and allow application of spray adhesive by hand.

FabFix™ Blue and FabFix™ Clear are epoxy based spray adhesives and are perfectly suited for preparation and fixation of preforms. Never mind if you are using epoxy or vinyl ester resin our FabFix™ Spray adhesives are compatible with your favored handy-lay-up, Infusion or RTM systems.

FabFix™ Blue offers fast visual detection and control of applied amount of spray adhesive due to its blue color. FabFix™ Clear is optimally suitable for optically sophisticated components.

 

No matter if railway-, aerospace-, automotive- or marine- applications, in all areas the fire protection of composite parts is getting higher attention.

With CeTePox® AM 3661 A/B CTP Advanced Materials GmbH is providing a highly filled epoxy gelcoat for various fire protection applications.

The protective layer can either be applied as gelcoat directly into the mold or be used as a topcoat, by varnishing the ready-made composite part. The system can be applied by a roller in arbitrary thickness, typically in the range of 0,5 up to 1 mm. By heating to 40 – 60 °C the viscosity of the product can be reduced, in order to enable the spraying of the material.

Composites, being protected with CeTePox® AM 3661 A/B, are able to pass various national and international fire standards, like ASTM E 84, DIN EN 45545, DIN 4102, IMO FTP 3.

 

TDS CeTePox® AM 3661 A/B

Talk to us – we will be happy to advise you!

This low-viscosity epoxy resin system is hardly inflammable. In contrast to the vast majority of resin systems available on the market, it is free of solid flame retardants, so it can easily be used for resin injection or infusion processes, maintaining an excellent surface quality and transparency of the fabricated components. 

The resin component XP 345 A can be combined with several different hardeners to meet special requirements like hardening conditions, cycle time or thermal stability. 

In the case of particularly high requirements regarding fire characteristics or smoke density, it is possible to increase the resistance of the composites by adding small amounts of solid flame retardants to meet the requirements for rail vehicle construction (i.e. EN 45545). 

In addition, we offer fire protection gel coats and high-performance prepreg systems for the highest fire protection requirements, which are well suited to meet the requirements of rail vehicle construction, the aviation industry or shipbuilding. 

TDS CeTePox® AM XP 345 A / B

Get in touch for a consultation – We would love to help.

News from Coatings & Construction

We would like to inform you that the labelling of salicylic acid (CAS 69-72-7) will change as of May 1, 2020. This change corresponds to regulation (EU) 2018/1480 of October 4, 2018 of the European Parliament, amended for the purpose of adapting it to the current technical and scientific progress, regulation (EG) No. 1272/2008 of the European Parliament and the European Council regarding the classification, labelling and packaging of substances and mixtures as well as the amendment of regulation (EU) 2017/776 of the European Commission.

According to the new classification (H361d / Repr. 2) of salicylic acid as a reprotoxic substance, all products that contain more than 3% salicylic acid are marked with the pictogram GHS 08 (health hazard).

As with all dangerous substances, salicylic acid must be specified in section 3 of the safety data sheet if the content in products already marked as dangerous is above 0.1%. This means that if the salicylic acid content is between 0.1% and 3%, the GHS08 pictogram does not appear on the labels, but the raw material salicylic acid is listed in section 3 of the safety data sheet.

As soon as we were informed of these changes, we made great efforts to develop products with a reduced (<3%) or even completely replaced salicylic acid content.

Below is a list of our newly developed products:

Products containing salicylic acid Products with reduced salicylic acid content Products free of salicylic acid
CeTePox® VP 2203-27 H CeTePox® 1474-01 H CeTePox® 1474 H
CeTePox® VP 388-69 H CeTePox® 1472 H
CeTePox® 1588 H CeTePox® 1588-01 H
CeTePox® 1594 H CeTePox® 1594-01 H
CeTePox® 1393-08 NF H CeTePox® 1393-05 H
CeTePox® 1396 H CeTePox® 1396-01 H
CeTePox® 1537 H CeTePox® 1537-01 H

Here you can find more information about the new developments.

Präsentation VP 2203-27 H vs 1474 H

Präsentation 1594 H vs 1594-01 H

Präsentation 1393-08 NF H vs 1393-05 H

Präsentation 1396 H vs 1396-01 H

Präsentation 1537 H vs. 1537-01 H

In addition to these already optimized options, other binders from our portfolio are affected as well! We will continue working on other alternatives and technical solutions to this problem.

Please check, whether this new hazardous substance classification and the associated change in labelling are relevant for your company.

If you need technical support, further technical information, samples or TDS of the above products, please send your request to ctp@ctpgmbh.de.

Neues aus Composite & Electrical

Die in den letzten Jahrzehnten dramatisch wachsende Produktionsmenge faserverstärkter Kunststoffe führt in zunehmendem Maße zu bisher ungelösten Fragen der Entsorgung dieser Materialien nach ihrer Nutzungsdauer. Die thermische Entsorgung in Müllverbrennungsanlagen oder in der Zementherstellung ist sicherlich keine tragfähige Lösung des Problems, ganz zu schweigen von der besonderen Problematik von Carbonfasern, deren unvollständige Verbrennung zu Störungen und Kurzschlüssen in den Filteranlagen der entsprechenden Anlagen führt.

Aditya Birla hat eine neue Klasse von Aminen entwickelt, die ein chemisches Recycling von Epoxidharzen bzw. daraus hergestellter Composites unter Verwendung preiswerter Lösungsmittel auf Basis nachwachsender Rohstoffe ermöglichen. Durch Trennung der duromeren Matrix von den Verstärkungsfasern ist eine Rückgewinnung beider Materialien möglich und ein stoffliches Recycling wird erheblich erleichtert.

Mit dem neu entwickelten Harzsystem YDL 5557 / THR 9357 steht ein Harzsystem für das Vakuuminfusionsverfahren zur Verfügung, welches sich durch eine sehr lange Verarbeitungszeit und niedrige Viskosität auszeichnet. Daraus hergestellte Composite Bauteile weisen mit konventionellen Epoxidharzen absolut vergleichbare thermische und mechanische Eigenschaften auf und können beispielsweise zur Herstellung von Booten, Sportartikeln oder der Herstellung von Rotorblättern für Windkraftanlagen eingesetzt werden.

TDS Epotec YDL 5557 – THR 9357

Übliche SMC-Bauteile leiden unter einem relativ schlechten Image wegen hoher Styrolemissionswerte sowie begrenzten mechanischen Eigenschaften bezogen auf ihr Gewicht. Aus diesen Gründen war in den letzten Jahren ein steigendes Interesse an SMC Anwendungen auf Basis von Epoxidharzsystemen zu verzeichnen.

Mit CeTePox® AM 3802 steht ein neu entwickeltes Produkt zur Verfügung, welches thermische Stabilität bis 150 °C bietet und unter 10 Minuten Zykluszeit bei der Verarbeitung ermöglicht.

Bei optimalen Verarbeitungsbedingungen ist ein maximaler Faservolumengehalt von 55 – 60 % erreichbar.

Sie suchen nach einem Produkt zum Fixieren großflächiger Textilien ohne zusätzliches Equipment?

FabFix™ Blue und FabFix™ Clear verbindet einfache Handhabung mit starker Klebkraft! Unsere FabFix™ Sprühklebertypen sind in handlichen Sprühdosen abgefüllt und ermöglichen den flächigen als auch punktuellen Auftrag des Sprühklebers von Hand.

FabFix™ Blue und FabFix™ Clear sind Epoxidharz-basierte Sprühkleber und eignen sich ideal für die Vorbereitung und Fixierung von Preforms. Egal ob Sie Epoxidharze oder Vinylester-Harze einsetzen unsere FabFix™ Sprühklebertypen sind kompatibel zu Ihren bevorzugt verwendeten Handlaminier-, Infusions- und RTM-Systemen.

FabFix™ Blue ermöglicht durch die blaue Einfärbung eine schnelle visuelle Erkennung und Kontrolle der aufgetragenen Klebstoffmenge. FabFix™ Clear eignet sich ideal für optisch anspruchsvolle Bauteile.

 

Egal ob Schienenfahrzeug, Luftfahrt, Automobil oder Marine, in allen Anwendungsbereichen spielt Brandschutz für CFK- und GFK-Bauteile eine wichtige Rolle.

Mit CeTePox® AM 3661 A/B stellt die CTP Advanced Materials GmbH einen hochgefüllten Epoxydharz-Gelcoat für Flammschutzanwendungen zur Verfügung.

Die Flammschutzbeschichtung kann als Gelcoat direkt in die Form appliziert oder aber als Topcoat verwendet werden, indem das fertige Laminat damit beschichtet wird. Das System kann mit Hilfe einer Rolle in beliebiger Schichtstärke aufgetragen werden, typische Werte liegen zwischen 0,5 bis 1 mm. Durch Erhitzen auf 40 -60 ° C kann die Viskosität verringert werden, um Sprühanwendungen möglich zu machen.

Bauteile, die mit diesem Gelcoat geschützt wurden, sind in der Lage verschiedene nationale und international Brandschutznormen zu erfüllen, z.B. ASTM E 84, DIN EN 45545, DIN 4102, IMO FTP 3.

TDS CeTePox® AM 3661 A/B

Sprechen Sie uns an – wir beraten Sie gern!

Dieses niedrigviskose Epoxidharzsystem ist schwer entflammbar. Da es im Gegensatz zu den allermeisten am Markt verfügbaren Harzsystemen frei von festen Flammschutzmitteln ist, kann es problemlos für Harzinjektions- bzw. Infusionsverfahren eingesetzt werden, wobei die Oberflächenqualität und Transparenz daraus hergestellter Bauteile sehr gut sind.

Die Harzkomponente XP 345 A kann mit diversen Härtern kombiniert werden, um speziellen Anforderungen an Härtungsbedingungen, Zykluszeit oder thermischer Stabilität gerecht zu werden.

Bei besonders hohen Anforderungen an das Brandverhalten bzw. die Rauchgasdichte ist es möglich, durch den Zusatz geringer Mengen fester Flammschutzmittel die Beständigkeit daraus hergestellter Composites erheblich zu steigern und somit den Anforderungen des Schienenfahrzeubaues, speziell der EN 45545 zu entsprechen.

Darüber hinaus bieten wir Ihnen bei Bedarf Brandschutzgelcoats sowie leistungsstarke Prepregsysteme für höchste Brandschutzanforderungen an, welche für die Anforderungen des Schienenfahrzeugbaues, der Luftfahrtindustrie oder des Schiffbaues sehr gut geeignet sind.

TDS CeTePox® AM XP 345 A/B

Sprechen Sie uns an – wir beraten Sie gern!

Neues aus Coatings & Construction